The Crossroads

The Crossroads

Pamela Cook

The Crossroads by Pamela  Cook

Reviewed by Helen

This is the first Pamela Cook story I have read and it won't be the last beautifully written with characters that are so engaging and alive this one had me riveted from the start till the end and had me feeling like friends with the people of Birralong.

This follows the lives of three woman linked but without knowing, when Sydney girl Faith Montgomery is riffling through her parents papers she comes across an envelope addressed to her and this envelope is going to change her life and open up a whole new family for her. When Faith starts on her journey to the small Queensland farming town of Birralong she has no idea what is going to happen or how she is going to cope.

Stephanie Bailey has lived in Birralong all of her life first growing up at the pub with her parents and now on the farm with her husband and son she loves her life but the drought is hard on them all and things are getting tough now, worries are causing rifts and with a new barmaid at the pub life is about to change again when secrets are revealed.

Rose Bailey who is Stephanie's mother and runs the heritage listed town pub The Crossroads has lived here all of her life as well married a visiting Irishman who loved the place and never left bought the pub settled down they had one child and Rose gave up her dreams of travel, but Rose is now widowed and has had a secret that has been kept for 31 years but all is about to uncovered what will it mean for these three woman and the town.

Truly this is a fabulous story that you will not want to put down once you start reading so many ups and downs emotions flying of the pages this is moving and so very beautiful I cried and smiled and cheered them all on so many stubborn characters who are lovable and just so nice. So fate has bought them all together and the love shines through. I highly recommend this one it will stay with me for a long time.

5/5 stars for a fabulous story

Expected publication: November 29th 2016 by Hachette Australia